The short answer
If your team is small and the finance side is simple, a task tool and a time tracker are enough. The moment someone has to answer did this client make money this month, the answer has to come from one system: the task carries the client, the hour carries the task, and the invoice and the cost sit next to both. That link is what this category sells.
The tools differ less in features than in two things: how they charge, and how much of the money side they cover without a second product.
Five questions that decide the shortlist
- Per seat or per workspace? Ten people on a $24 seat cost $240 a month. The same ten on a flat workspace price cost what the workspace costs. Seat pricing also decides who you leave out.
- Does time need approval before it becomes cost? Recorded time and approved time are not the same number. If nobody reviews hours, the margin report inherits every mistake.
- Are invoices native or an integration? Several tools cover projects and time well and then hand invoicing to an accounting product. That is a workable answer, but it is a second system.
- One company or several? Separate legal entities, separate books and one login is a requirement that eliminates most of the list quickly.
- Will the team actually enter time? The most complete system is worth nothing if the hours arrive on Friday from memory.
What the vendors publish
List prices before tax, as published by each vendor on 11 September 2026. Where a vendor publishes nothing, the cell says so rather than guessing. Prices change; check the vendor's page before you decide.
| Tool | Pricing basis | Entry list price | Free trial | Invoicing | Profitability reporting |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PLYNT | Flat per workspace | $27 a month for 5 members ($21.60 billed annually) | 7 days on Launch and Core | Yes | Yes |
| Productive | Per user | $9 per user (Essential, annual) | 14 days | Yes | Yes |
| Scoro | Per user, bought as app bundles | from €15 per user, minimum 5 users | 14 days | Yes | Yes |
| Teamwork.com | Per user, seat minimums | $9.99 per user (Basics, annual, minimum 3) | 14 days | Basic invoices on Basics | Budgets from Accelerate, profitability from Optimize |
| Workamajig | Per user, minimum 10 | $49 per user for 10 or more | Not stated | Yes, with a general ledger | Yes |
| Function Point | Per user | $53 per user (Standardize, annual as published) | Not stated; an onboarding fee is | Yes, batch invoicing | Yes |
| Accelo | Custom quote | Not published | Not stated | Yes | Yes |
| Kantata | Custom quote | Not published | Not stated | Yes | Yes |
| Streamtime | Fixed price, no per-user fee | Not published | Offered, length not stated | Yes | Yes |
| Ravetree | Per user | $29 per user (annual) | Offered, length not stated | Yes | Yes |
| Bonsai | Per user | $9 per user (Basic, annual) | 7 days | From Essentials | From Premium |
| Paymo | Per user, free plan | $15.90 per user (Plus, monthly) | 15 days | Yes | From Plus |
| Harvest + Forecast | Per seat, free plan | $9 per seat (Teams, annual) | 30 days | Yes | From Enterprise |
| ClickUp | Per user, free plan | $7 per user (Unlimited, annual) | Free plan, no trial stated | No native client invoicing stated | Billable time from Business |
Two neighbouring categories often appear on the same shortlist. Resource planners such as Float (from $7 per scheduled person) and Resource Guru (from $5 per person) schedule people well and do not publish invoicing. General project tools such as monday.com and Asana do not list client invoicing in their plans at all; we compare them separately in PLYNT vs monday.com and PLYNT vs Asana.
Which tool suits which agency
Under ten people, watching every dollar. The shortlist is the tools with public prices and no seat minimum: PLYNT, Productive Essential, Bonsai, Paymo, Harvest with Forecast. Workamajig starts at ten users and Scoro at five.
Resource planning is the daily problem. Scoro, Productive and Kantata are built around utilisation and capacity; a dedicated planner alongside a lighter tool is the other route.
You need a sales pipeline too. Productive, Function Point and Accelo carry one today. PLYNT does not: the CRM is planned and unreleased.
Several companies under one roof. Workamajig keeps separate books per company, Scoro sells extra entities as an add-on, Kantata groups work by department or geography on its top tiers, and PLYNT gives each company its own workspace under one login.
Where PLYNT fits, and what it does not do
PLYNT is a workspace for agencies and service companies: project boards, client records, time with a review step, project profitability, invoices, expenses, receivables, requests and approvals, and a separate workspace per company. It is priced per workspace, from $27 a month for five members, and it works in English and Georgian.
What it does not do today: there is no sales CRM, no private desktop time capture and no AI analysis. Those are in development and buying a plan does not unlock them. If a sales pipeline is the reason you are shopping, another tool on this page serves you better right now.
See the numbers side by side in the comparisons, or work out what your current stack costs in the stack calculator.
By the kind of company you run
The same five questions land differently depending on what you sell. These pages take them one kind of company at a time, including what PLYNT does not cover for each: creative and design studios, marketing agencies on retainer, video production companies and consulting firms.
Questions people ask
What is agency management software?
One system that holds client work, the hours spent on it, the cost of those hours and the money invoiced against it. A task tool that does not know what an hour costs cannot tell you what a project earned; that link is the whole point of the category.
How much does it cost for a team of ten?
On per-user pricing, ten people cost ten times the seat price: about $90 a month on Productive Essential, $240 on Productive Professional and $490 on Workamajig, at the list prices published on 11 September 2026. PLYNT Core covers ten members for $57 a month, or $45.60 with annual billing.
Is a project management tool enough?
For planning, often yes. For money, no. Asana and monday.com do not list client invoicing in their plans, so the invoice, the cost of the hours and the margin end up in a spreadsheet, where nobody updates them between month-ends.
What does per-workspace pricing change?
Who you invite. When a seat costs money, the designer who logs four hours a week, the accountant and the client stay outside the system, and the data inside it is incomplete. A flat workspace price removes that decision.
Which tools publish no price?
Accelo, Kantata and Streamtime quote individually, and Workamajig publishes prices but starts at ten users. If you are under ten people, the shortlist is effectively the tools with public prices.
Sources
Every figure on this page comes from the vendor's own pricing or help pages, read on 11 September 2026. If something has changed, tell us at info@plynt.us and we will correct it.